Building New Bridges – Morgan Dickman

Our host family in Sibiu took us on a "walk" up to the highest part in Sibiu.

Our host family in Sibiu took us on a “walk” up to the highest part in Sibiu.

Our host brother was wonderful.  We were able to practice our German while he practiced English.

Our host brother was wonderful. We were able to practice our German while he practiced English.

The tower in Budapest was absolutely beautiful.

The tower in Budapest was absolutely beautiful.

Being able to attend my first ever wine tasting in the Slovakia wine country.  A true blessing.

Being able to attend my first ever wine tasting in the Slovakia wine country. A true blessing.

Nicole and I were able to find the most amazing nooks and crannies of Vienna, one example is this little off street.

Nicole and I were able to find the most amazing nooks and crannies of Vienna, one example is this little off street.

We were able to watch a opera for free outside on a big screen!

We were able to watch a opera for free outside on a big screen!

What a great place to relax and reflect with the nuns from the Sound of Music singing in the background...humbling.

What a great place to relax and reflect with the nuns from the Sound of Music singing in the background…humbling.

We made our mark on a tree outside the abbey in Salzburg.  Angela, Nicole, Zach, and I are members of that tree forever.

We made our mark on a tree outside the abbey in Salzburg. Angela, Nicole, Zach, and I are members of that tree forever.

Venetian masks make their way back to the states.

Venetian masks make their way back to the states.

Was able to build bridges within the choir by going on a "date" with someone from the choir.

Was able to build bridges within the choir by going on a “date” with someone from the choir.

This was the prettiest church in all of Italy in my opinion.  Ravenna was a great lunch spot.

This was the prettiest church in all of Italy in my opinion. Ravenna was a great lunch spot.

The entrance and garden to the church was wonderful.  Created a great worship space.

The entrance and garden to the church was wonderful. Created a great worship space.

This carousel reminded me of the one at the mall in Mankato...connections!

This carousel reminded me of the one at the mall in Mankato…connections!

These little paintings were all of Florence.  Brought back the simplicity of art.

These little paintings were all of Florence. Brought back the simplicity of art.

My first ever real life sculpture park.  The way these were formed was truly outstanding.

My first ever real life sculpture park. The way these were formed was truly outstanding.

My goons in Regello-Cascia.  Goons for life.

My goons in Regello-Cascia. Goons for life.

Here is one of our "missing Emily Bush" photos by the leaning tower in Pisa.  We were able to connect back to someone in Iowa from thousands of miles away.

Here is one of our “missing Emily Bush” photos by the leaning tower in Pisa. We were able to connect back to someone in Iowa from thousands of miles away.

This man's music touched my heart in the main square of Milan.

This man’s music touched my heart in the main square of Milan.

Music in the park.  Great way to see the culture of not just Milan, but Switzerland with the Expo going on.

Music in the park. Great way to see the culture of not just Milan, but Switzerland with the Expo going on.

Our host father in Ohringhen made little trinkets like this that were all over their garden and home.  Made me really reflect on Curse Upon Iron, and the effects of iron throughout history.

Our host father in Ohringhen made little trinkets like this that were all over their garden and home. Made me really reflect on Curse Upon Iron, and the effects of iron throughout history.

Hello Germany! Rothenburg has been wonderful to us.

Hello Germany! Rothenburg has been wonderful to us.

I felt like at a fancy hotel when we came to Eisenach with chocolate on our pillow at our host stay.

I felt like at a fancy hotel when we came to Eisenach with chocolate on our pillow at our host stay.

Wartburg Auto Hail to Thee! :)

Wartburg Auto Hail to Thee! 🙂

To think that so many festivals throughout the ages happened in THIS HALL...holy smokes that crazy.

To think that so many festivals throughout the ages happened in THIS HALL…holy smokes that crazy.

Pcol and us at the castle.  Makes me proud to be a Knight!

Pcol and us at the castle. Makes me proud to be a Knight!

Host mom got these for me.  Didn't know my name was famous in Germany!

Host mom got these for me. Didn’t know my name was famous in Germany!

Our neighbors!  We have been able to connect and build relationships with our hosts so much in Eisenach.

Our neighbors! We have been able to connect and build relationships with our hosts so much in Eisenach.

My host family.  They were great!

My host family. They were great!

Being in the Blue Mosque in Istanbul was the most relaxed I had been all trip.  Would love to be able to worship in that space everyday.

Being in the Blue Mosque in Istanbul was the most relaxed I had been all trip. Would love to be able to worship in that space everyday.

Our momma kitty we found outside our church in Istanbul.  She needed just as much love and care as my cats back in the states.

Our momma kitty we found outside our church in Istanbul. She needed just as much love and care as my cats back in the states.

The pillars to the unknown.

The pillars to the unknown.

Leave a Reply

