Andra’s Pictoral Post

 

Sibiu- It was so wonderful to see and hear the old Transylvanian organ music. What a great link to the past!

IMG_0349

Hammersdorf- It was great to hear about the green practices at this church and how they are attempting to encourage the local farmers!

IMG_0791

Neuendettelsau- Drew and I took this picture in front of the Wartburg Chapel last year. After hearing about the great connections, we had to recreate the picture.

IMG_0763

Colmar- We explored the town and tasted local cuisine! Such a beautiful “little Venice.”

IMG_0413

Bratislava- We went to the natural history museum where an eager gentlemen showed us some fun and interesting things to help us enjoy our visit!

IMG_0390

Budapest- This memorial was very moving. I spent time writing in my journal and reflecting upon the history that this city has experienced.

IMG_0549

Florence- This dome and the contest executed to find its designer made me think more about architecture and the possibility of failure. There may have been some radical ideas throughout history that haven’t survived!

IMG_0720

Öhringen- This was my second stay with my host family and I loved it again! We visited some wonderful small towns nearby and experienced the crazy weather together!

IMG_0436

Vienna- I went to the Haus der Musik and loved learning more about the lives of many composers and seeing artifacts such as Schubert’s spectacles! I also learned much more about sound and was able to relate it to information from my Psych of Music class!

IMG_0535

Venice- It was so great to see all the adds for our concert, but it was even better to see such a full house. The church was full with many others coming and going. This was definitely our most diverse crowd!

IMG_0594

Pisa- We had some fun learning about the architecture of the area!

IMG_0595

maybe too much fun…

IMG_0597

Oops…

IMG_0697

Stuttgart- I loved the stories we heard about the art in this building and the effect of the war on the town.

IMG_0418

Modra- It was such a beautiful morning and I loved my run through the vineyards!

IMG_0803

Leipheim- Although we had trouble communicating, our homestay was such a great learning experience. Laughter was our language at this moment!

IMG_0682

Milan- Walking around and exploring the city with these gentlemen, we decided to stop and admire some of the names on the Teatro della Scala!

IMG_0976

Istanbul- This picture of Hagia Sophia was my favorite because it shows the older Christan mosaic of a Seraph and the Muslim medallion both coexisting peacefully together in the museum.

IMG_0479

Salzburg- I went on a journey alone. I hiked around and got a great view of the city! (and of rocky stair paths)

IMG_0577

Reggello-Cascia- The story of the triptych in the Masaccio museum was great and I loved the interest we all showed in the great work!

IMG_0883

Eisenach- my two host sisters are exploring a waterfall on our hike. The older reminded me of my sister and the younger of myself.

Andra Lee Peeler

Leave a Reply

